Home / Insights / Operations and security
On which plan does support stop being a help article?
We checked all 6 vendors' own pages again on 6 September 2026. Only 2 of the 6 — monday.com and Shopify — put a live channel in front of every plan, the free one included. On the other 4, the first person you can write to sits behind a paid plan, and on 2 of those it sits behind the second or third paid tier.
The other half of the question is served worse. 3 vendors state that they are open around the clock, but only 2 state anywhere how long you wait for an answer: HubSpot ("within one working day" by email, a callback "generally within five minutes") and Shopify ("typical response times of 48 hours" by email). Where a vendor states nothing, nothing has been promised. A reply that takes 4 days breaks no commitment, because no commitment was made.
"Support included" means nothing until you split it into 5 parts
| ① Channels the vendor states | ② Plans that get a live channel | ③ Hours stated | ④ Time to a reply stated | ⑤ What a free or entry account may ask | How to read this row | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HubSpot | Knowledge base and community on every plan; chat, email, phone and callback above that | Free tools: none. Starter: chat and email. Professional and Enterprise: phone as well | We could not find support hours stated | Email within 1 working day; a callback generally within 5 minutes | Free tools: help articles and the community only | The only vendor here that will call you, and the only one that puts a number in minutes |
| monday.com | Live chat, the in-product help icon, and the support site | No plan condition stated for the chat. Enterprise adds "24/7 expert support"; Premium Support is sold through sales | "We're available 24/7 and happy to help" | We could not find this stated | We could not find a restriction stated | The widest open door of the 6, with nothing in writing about the wait |
| Asana | Support chatbot at the help center, the forum, and Asana Support from Starter up | Personal: forum and help center only. Starter and above: Asana Support | 24/7 on Enterprise and Enterprise+ only, plus weekend support for complex data migrations. Not stated for the lower plans | We could not find this stated | Free Personal plan: help center and forum only | On the free plan there is no one to ask |
| Semrush | An online contact form. We could not find chat, phone or a support address stated | Free accounts may write in, but only about billing, account, legal and security | We could not find this stated | We could not find this stated (the Customer Support Terms carry no clause on it) | Free: "billing, account, legal & security inquiries" only. Paid: product questions as well | The 1 vendor where a free account cannot ask how the product works |
| Shopify | Chat on every plan; inbound phone and email above that. The vendor states it makes no outbound calls on any plan | Chat: every plan. Phone and email: Plus and Retail (and inbound phone on POS Pro) | Chat available 24/7 | Email: typical response times of 48 hours | Chat is open on the entry plans | The only vendor that gives its cheapest plan a live channel and says so plainly |
| Squarespace | Email, live chat and social. "We don't offer assistance by phone" | We could not find differences by plan stated | Email 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Chat Monday to Friday 4:00–20:00 ET in English; Monday to Friday, 24 hours a day in French, German, Portuguese and Spanish | We could not find this stated | No plan condition stated | English is the language with the shortest chat window this vendor runs |
Scroll sideways to see every column
All hours are as stated by the vendor, in the vendor's own time zone. Checked August 2026 (rechecked 6 September 2026); sources at the end.
The rows to look at are the ones where ② and ④ diverge. A vendor that opens a channel on every plan but says nothing about how fast it answers has given you availability, not a service level. Availability is what a marketing page can promise cheaply; a number of hours is what it cannot.
2 vendors let you ask before you pay; 4 do not
Shopify states it in a line: "For all plans: Chat (available 24/7)". monday.com's contact page points every account at the same live chat and says "We're available 24/7 and happy to help", with no plan condition attached to it. Those are the 2 doors that are open while you are still working out whether the product does the job.
The other 4 close it to some degree. HubSpot's free tools get the knowledge base and the community and nothing else. Asana's free Personal plan gets the help center and the forum. Semrush lets a free account write in, but only about "billing, account, legal & security inquiries", and states that "direct support for product-specific issues is not available in the free plan". Squarespace states no plan condition at all, which is the same answer as monday.com's but arrived at by silence rather than by a sentence.
| Inquiries on free and entry plans | What paying opens up | |
|---|---|---|
| HubSpot | The free tools cannot use chat, email or phone | Starter adds chat and email; Professional and above add phone and the callback |
| Asana | The free Personal plan gets the help center and the forum only | Asana Support from Starter up; 24/7 support from Enterprise up |
| Semrush | Free accounts get billing, account, legal and security topics only | Paid accounts can also ask product questions |
| Shopify | Chat on every plan; phone and email not available | Plus and Retail (and POS Pro) add phone and email |
How to read this table: the questions you want to ask come up precisely while you are trying the product out. Trying it free first and asking when you get stuck works worst with HubSpot and Asana, and on Semrush the 1 question a free account cannot ask is the only question a trial is for.
HubSpot attaches 1 more condition. Its help center states that, on accounts created on or after 5 March 2024, a user who uses chat, email or phone must be assigned a Core, Sales or Service seat (a seat is 1 named user's license). Even on a paid account, a staff member without a seat cannot open an inquiry. Letting someone work in the tool without buying them a seat is not a workable arrangement.
English is the shortest chat window Squarespace runs
Squarespace splits its live chat by language, and the split does not run the way a US buyer would guess. The support page states chat is open "Monday to Friday, 4:00 AM to 8:00 PM ET in English", and "Monday to Friday, 24 hours a day in French, German, Portuguese, and Spanish". Email is accepted "24 hours a day, 7 days a week", and the page states plainly: "We don't offer assistance by phone."
So the customer writing in English gets 16 hours a day, Monday to Friday, and nothing at the weekend, while the same company answers a Spanish or Portuguese chat through the night. If the site breaks on a Saturday, the only route is email, and the time to an email reply is not stated anywhere on the vendor's own pages.
Note also that "24 hours a day, 7 days a week" describes when a message is accepted, not when it is answered. Sending at midnight does not mean an answer at midnight.
Only 2 of the 6 put a number on the wait
HubSpot states both of its numbers: an email reply "within one working day", and for a callback, "Generally, you'll receive a call within five minutes." A callback is not you placing a call; you request one through a form and the vendor calls you back. Shopify states 1: email has "typical response times of 48 hours".
The other 4 state none. monday.com states availability without a wait. Asana states "24/7 support" on Enterprise and Enterprise+ and no reply time on any plan. Semrush's Customer Support Terms carry no clause on response time. Squarespace accepts email around the clock and says nothing about answering it.
1 working day against 48 hours is not a small gap when the work is stopped: it is the difference between losing an afternoon and losing 2 days. And a vendor that states nothing is not necessarily slower than one that states 48 hours — it has simply given you nothing to hold it to.
A callback is rarer than the marketing suggests
Of the 6, HubSpot is the only one that will ring you, and only from Professional up. Shopify states the opposite in as many words: "Shopify Support doesn't make outbound phone or video calls on any Shopify plan." Its phone support is inbound only, on Plus and Retail, with inbound phone through the Help Center on POS Pro. Squarespace offers no phone at all, in either direction.
So if explaining the problem out loud matters, the whole set narrows to 2 routes: HubSpot Professional and above, or a Shopify plan at the Plus or Retail level. On the other 4 vendors the entire relationship is typed.
Who these vendors do not suit
Asana is the awkward one for a business that cannot stop. Round-the-clock cover arrives only at Enterprise, and for Starter and Advanced the vendor states no hours at all. You are paying for support whose opening times are unpublished.
Semrush does not suit anyone who wants to establish that the product does the job before paying for it. The free account can ask about the invoice but not about the software, and there is no channel other than a form.
Squarespace does not suit anyone who works weekends, or who wants to talk rather than type. Its English chat closes on Friday evening and phone support does not exist.
HubSpot's free tools and Asana's Personal plan do not suit the try-it-first approach. Within the free tier, help articles and the community are the only routes, and on HubSpot even a paid account has to have spent a seat on the person doing the asking.
If you are unsure, answer these in order
Squarespace accepts email around the clock but states no reply time, and its English chat runs Monday to Friday only. Source: each vendor's own help center and pricing pages (checked September 2026)
If a live channel on the plan you actually intend to buy is a condition, only 2 of the 6 are backed by a statement at the entry level: monday.com and Shopify. If you choose one of the other 4, decide before you sign which paid tier you are buying, because that decision and the support decision are the same decision.
With any of these products, 1 thing is worth doing before you sign: open the chat or send the form from the free plan and time the reply yourself. Treat the result as 1 record of your own, not as company policy. Assume the next one may not be the same.
Sources (checked September 2026)
- HubSpot: Get help with HubSpot (channels by subscription tier, phone from Professional up, the seat assignment requirement, a reply within 1 working day, a callback generally within 5 minutes)
- monday.com: How to contact support ("We're available 24/7 and happy to help"; no plan condition and no response time stated) / Pricing (Enterprise "24/7 expert support" and a 99.9% uptime SLA)
- Asana: How do I get support from Asana (the support chatbot and the forum; no hours or response time stated) / Pricing (Personal gets the forum and the help center, Asana Support from Starter up, 24/7 support and weekend support for complex data migrations on Enterprise and Enterprise+)
- Semrush: Contact Semrush Support team (free accounts ask about billing, account, legal and security only; paid accounts can also ask product questions) / Customer Support Terms (online web form only; no clause on response time)
- Shopify: Contacting Shopify Support (chat available 24/7 on all plans; inbound phone and email on Plus and Retail; inbound phone on POS Pro; no outbound phone or video calls on any plan; email typically 48 hours)
- Squarespace: How do I contact Squarespace Customer Support (email 24 hours a day 7 days a week, chat 4:00–20:00 ET in English and 24 hours a day in French, German, Portuguese and Spanish, no phone support) / Why we don't offer phone support
We could not find the following stated on the vendors' own pages: support hours (HubSpot and Semrush, and Asana's Starter and Advanced plans); the time to a reply (monday.com, Asana, Semrush and Squarespace); a plan condition on monday.com's chat; differences in support by plan (Squarespace); and whether support differs for a contract signed through a reseller or a partner (all 6 vendors). Terms change, so please check each vendor's own pages before you sign.
Buying from Japan? See the Japanese edition for which vendors state that you can contact them in Japanese, and in which channels →
What changed on this page
- scope change6 September 2026 The English edition — currency and tax assumptions
yen prices, Japanese consumption tax and a card issuer’s foreign transaction fee → US published prices in US dollars; sales tax is described as determined by the billing address and no rate is assumed
Buying from Japan is covered in the Japanese edition, which keeps the yen figures.
Where: Processing rates do not decide the Shopify plan until monthly volume passes $25,000, Is the free trial actually free, No two vendors mean the same thing by “seat”, Budgeting from the list price times twelve leaves you short, Which country will your customer data sit in?, monday.com or Asana: which should you choose?, How many months until that SaaS pays for itself?
Every recorded change to this site is in the change log.
More in Operations and security
All of operations and security →Who helps you when something breaks
Only 2 of the 5 vendors put a response time in numbers, and only on their top plans.
Read → Operations and security 15Which country will your customer data sit in?
All 4 put a US sign-up in the United States. HubSpot moves regions free once you pay, Asana moves for a price, monday.com never moves an account at all.
Read → Operations and security 21How many times a month will your automations run, before you sign?
With last month's actual volumes, 7 steps give you the monthly figure, but of the 4 vendors only monday.com lets you check afterwards whether that figure was right.
Read →