Virtual number and line plans · United States
Line2 vs Talkroute Pricing (2026): $7.99 vs $5.90 per Seat
At ten seats over three years, Talkroute costs $5.90 per seat per month and the other costs $7.99 — a difference of $752 across the term for a ten-seat business.
The published prices are $7.99 and $59.00 a month flat, which is not always the same ranking.
Side by side
| Line2 | Talkroute | |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest plan that covers 10 seats | Second number | Pro |
| Published price | $7.99 | $59.00 a month flat |
| On | annual billing | flat monthly |
| Monthly billing | $9.99 | not published |
| Minimum seats | 1 | none stated |
| Requires first | nothing stated | nothing stated |
| Effective / seat at 1 seat | $7.99 | $19.00 Basic |
| Effective / seat at 3 seats | $7.99 | $9.67 Basic |
| Effective / seat at 5 seats | $7.99 | $7.80 Basic |
| Effective / seat at 10 seats | $7.99 | $5.90 |
| Effective / seat at 25 seats | $7.99 | $5.36 |
| Effective / seat at 50 seats | $7.99 | $5.18 |
| Three-year cost at 10 seats | $2,876 | $2,124 |
| Taxes and fees | says nothing about taxes or regulatory fees on its pricing page | publishes an all-inclusive price: no separate telecom taxes, USF or regulatory fees are added |
| Owner | J2 Web Services, Inc. (Ziff Davis) | not confirmed |
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. Taxes, regulatory recovery fees, USF and e911 charges are not added to any figure on this site. On taxes and regulatory fees, 2 of the 37 providers state that the price already carries them on at least one plan, 0 publish what they come to, 14 say they are extra without an amount, and 21 say nothing. Where a provider says the price is all-inclusive or includes them, the page says so beside the figure; everywhere else the invoice will be higher than the figure. Where a plan needs another subscription first (a Google Workspace or Microsoft Teams license), that subscription is not in the figure and the page says so. Handset purchases, number porting, international calling and overage are excluded. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.
Where the answer changes
- The answer flips on size. At 1 seat Line2 is cheaper per seat; at 50 seats Talkroute is. Minimum seat counts, user allowances and the plan each provider makes you move to are why.
- The plan changes as the team grows. Talkroute moves to Basic at 1 seat. The figures above already price the plan you would actually be on at each size, not the entry plan stretched past its cap.
- Only one of these publishes a monthly-billing rate. Line2 does; Talkroute does not, so what monthly billing costs there is not knowable from its page.
- Only one side's price carries taxes and fees. Talkroute publishes an all-inclusive price: no separate telecom taxes, USF or regulatory fees are added; Line2 says nothing about taxes or regulatory fees on its pricing page. So the gap on the invoice is wider than the gap above if Talkroute is the cheaper one, and narrower if it is not.
What is not confirmed on either side
Figures on this page come from each provider's published pages only. These points were not stated there, so the comparison does not include them:
Line2 (3 open items)
Taxes and regulatory fees: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).
Not confirmed: overage thresholds behind the "unlimited" asterisk (Terms of Service not read).
Not confirmed: whether taxes and regulatory fees are added at checkout (page is silent).
Talkroute (3 open items)
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).
Annual-billing price: FAQ says annual plans are "available" but no annual price is shown.
Not confirmed: Enterprise price (quote only).
The full list for each provider is on its own page: Line2, Talkroute.
What changed on either side
5 recorded changes across the two providers: 0 on a provider's own page, 5 correcting a figure this site held. The most recent:
- 2026-09-05 — Talkroute: correction to our data Basic, Plus, Pro: price per additional user not held → 5. Published on the pricing page as "$5 per additional user"; previously held only in notes, so seats above the included count showed n/a.
- 2026-09-05 — Talkroute: correction to our data plan line-up not held → Enterprise. Added the quote-only Enterprise tier (20+ users, bulk discount) so the page says a lower quoted price may exist above 20 seats.
- 2026-09-05 — Talkroute: correction to our data tax and fee treatment not_stated → all_inclusive. Pricing FAQ: "Talkroute provides an all-inclusive monthly price. We do not add separate charges for telecom taxes, the Universal Service Fund (USF), or other regulatory fees." The row previously said the provider was silent on fees.
- 2026-09-05 — Line2: correction to our data plan line-up Published plans (no price read) → Line2 (second number). Prices read from the rendered pricing page with Claude in Chrome. The earlier automated fetch was blocked (403) and could not read the page.
- 2026-09-05 — Line2: correction to our data parent company not held → J2 Web Services, Inc. (Ziff Davis). Footer of the pricing page: "© 2019–2026 J2 Web Services, Inc., a Ziff Davis company."
Every entry, by month, with an RSS feed: What changed.
Who this is not for
This compares published prices and nothing else. It is not a judgment about call quality, support or reliability, and neither product has been used by us. If the two prices are close, this page will not decide it for you and should not.
Sources
- Line2 pricing page. checked 2026-09-05
- Talkroute pricing page. checked 2026-09-05
Related
- Line2 pricing in full
- Talkroute pricing in full
- Other providers near Talkroute
- Put your own seat count in
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.