Seat-priced phone system · United States
Microsoft Teams Phone vs Nextiva Pricing (2026): $13 vs $15 per Seat
At ten seats over three years, Microsoft Teams Phone costs $13.00 per seat per month and the other costs $15.00 — a difference of $720 across the term for a ten-seat business.
The published prices are $13.00 and $15.00, which is not always the same ranking.
Microsoft Teams Phone's figure is the phone license only: it requires Microsoft Teams Essentials license ($4.00 per user per month, paid yearly) or another eligible Microsoft Teams license, billed separately; with it the minimum usable stack is $17.00 per seat at ten seats.
Side by side
| Microsoft Teams Phone | Nextiva | |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest plan that covers 10 seats | Teams Phone with Pay-as-you-go Calling (Zone 1 - US) | Core |
| Published price | $13.00 | $15.00 |
| On | annual billing | annual billing |
| Monthly billing | not published | $23.00 |
| Minimum seats | none stated | none stated |
| Requires first | Microsoft Teams Essentials license ($4.00 per user per month, paid yearly) or another eligible Microsoft Teams license, billed separately | nothing stated |
| Effective / seat at 1 seat | $13.00 | $15.00 |
| Effective / seat at 3 seats | $13.00 | $15.00 |
| Effective / seat at 5 seats | $13.00 | $15.00 |
| Effective / seat at 10 seats | $13.00 | $15.00 |
| Effective / seat at 25 seats | $13.00 | $15.00 |
| Effective / seat at 50 seats | $13.00 | $15.00 |
| Three-year cost at 10 seats | $4,680 | $5,400 |
| Minimum usable stack / seat at 10 seats | $17.00 | $15.00 (nothing required first) |
| Taxes and fees | states that the price includes communication taxes and fees | says taxes and fees are added separately, without saying how much |
| Owner | not confirmed | not confirmed |
How that is worked out
Nothing else is added. Taxes, regulatory recovery fees, USF and e911 charges are not added to any figure on this site. On taxes and regulatory fees, 2 of the 37 providers state that the price already carries them on at least one plan, 0 publish what they come to, 14 say they are extra without an amount, and 21 say nothing. Where a provider says the price is all-inclusive or includes them, the page says so beside the figure; everywhere else the invoice will be higher than the figure. Where a plan needs another subscription first (a Google Workspace or Microsoft Teams license), that subscription is not in the figure and the page says so. Handset purchases, number porting, international calling and overage are excluded. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.
Where the answer changes
- Size does not change the ranking here. Microsoft Teams Phone is cheaper per seat at every size where both have a plan.
- Only one of these publishes a monthly-billing rate. Nextiva does; Microsoft Teams Phone does not, so what monthly billing costs there is not knowable from its page.
- Only one side's price carries taxes and fees. Microsoft Teams Phone states that the price includes communication taxes and fees; Nextiva says taxes and fees are added separately, without saying how much. So the gap on the invoice is wider than the gap above if Microsoft Teams Phone is the cheaper one, and narrower if it is not.
- Add the prerequisite before you compare. Microsoft Teams Phone needs Microsoft Teams Essentials license first. If you already pay for it, the figures above are the incremental cost; if not, the total is higher by that subscription.
What is not confirmed on either side
Figures on this page come from each provider's published pages only. These points were not stated there, so the comparison does not include them:
Microsoft Teams Phone (8 open items)
Free trial: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).
Max seats: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).
Minimum seats: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).
Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).
Nextiva (8 open items)
Not confirmed: contract length for Scale plan.
Taxes and regulatory fees: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).
Free trial: page offers a no-credit-card demo, not a numbered free trial.
Minimum seats: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).
The full list for each provider is on its own page: Microsoft Teams Phone, Nextiva.
What changed on either side
8 recorded changes across the two providers: 0 on a provider's own page, 8 correcting a figure this site held. The most recent six:
- 2026-09-05 — Nextiva: correction to our data Scale: seat price, billed monthly not held → 75. Monthly toggle on the rendered pricing page shows Scale at $75/user/mo, the same figure as the Annually toggle (no discount for annual billing on this tier).
- 2026-09-05 — Nextiva: correction to our data Core: maximum seats not held → 100. Annual Small Business pricing is limited to customers with 1–100 employees (pricing-page footnote).
- 2026-09-05 — Nextiva: correction to our data Engage: maximum seats not held → 100. Annual Small Business pricing is limited to customers with 1–100 employees (pricing-page footnote).
- 2026-09-05 — Nextiva: correction to our data Scale: maximum seats not held → 100. Annual Small Business pricing is limited to customers with 1–100 employees (pricing-page footnote).
- 2026-09-05 — Microsoft Teams Phone: correction to our data Teams Phone Standard: pricing model per_seat → add_on. Teams Phone Standard is the phone-system add-on only: it needs a separate Teams license and a calling plan or carrier (Calling Plan, Operator Connect or Direct Routing) before it can place outside calls. It is now shown as a license-only floor and no longer ranked against complete phone systems.
- 2026-09-05 — Microsoft Teams Phone: correction to our data the three calling plans: tax and fee treatment not held → included. Page states "Price includes communication taxes and fees." for the $13, $17 and $34 calling plans; the page text previously said Microsoft was silent on fees.
Every entry, by month, with an RSS feed: What changed.
Who this is not for
This compares published prices and nothing else. It is not a judgment about call quality, support or reliability, and neither product has been used by us. If the two prices are close, this page will not decide it for you and should not.
Sources
- Microsoft Teams Phone pricing page. checked 2026-09-05
- Nextiva pricing page. checked 2026-09-05
Related
- Microsoft Teams Phone pricing in full
- Nextiva pricing in full
- Other providers near Microsoft Teams Phone
- Put your own seat count in
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.