Seat-priced phone system · United States

Microsoft Teams Phone vs Vonage Pricing (2026): $13 vs $12.59 per Seat

At ten seats over three years, Vonage Business Communications costs $12.59 per seat per month and the other costs $13.00 — a difference of $148 across the term for a ten-seat business.

The published prices are $13.00 and $12.59, which is not always the same ranking.

Microsoft Teams Phone's figure is the phone license only: it requires Microsoft Teams Essentials license ($4.00 per user per month, paid yearly) or another eligible Microsoft Teams license, billed separately; with it the minimum usable stack is $17.00 per seat at ten seats.

Side by side

The cheapest plan on each side that covers ten seats, United States pricing. Where a plan's user cap is passed at a larger size, the row names the plan the provider moves you to and prices that instead. Sources: Microsoft Teams Phone checked 2026-09-05 and Vonage Business Communications checked 2026-09-05.
 Microsoft Teams PhoneVonage Business Communications
Cheapest plan that covers 10 seatsTeams Phone with Pay-as-you-go Calling (Zone 1 - US)Mobile (5–19 lines)
Published price$13.00$12.59
Onannual billingannual billing
Monthly billingnot published$17.99
Minimum seatsnone stated5
Requires firstMicrosoft Teams Essentials license ($4.00 per user per month, paid yearly) or another eligible Microsoft Teams license, billed separatelynothing stated
Effective / seat at 1 seat$13.00$13.99
Mobile (1–4 lines)
Effective / seat at 3 seats$13.00$13.99
Mobile (1–4 lines)
Effective / seat at 5 seats$13.00$12.59
Effective / seat at 10 seats$13.00$12.59
Effective / seat at 25 seats$13.00$10.49
Mobile (20–99 lines)
Effective / seat at 50 seats$13.00$10.49
Mobile (20–99 lines)
Three-year cost at 10 seats$4,680$4,532
Minimum usable stack / seat at 10 seats$17.00$12.59 (nothing required first)
Taxes and feesstates that the price includes communication taxes and feessays taxes and fees are added separately, without saying how much
Ownernot confirmedEricsson

How that is worked out

seats billed = max(seats you have, minimum seats the plan requires) plan per month = published seat price x seats billed three-year cost = plan per month x 36 + setup fee effective per seat = three-year cost / (36 x seats you have) monthly-billing gap = monthly-billing price / annual-billing price flat package = flat monthly price + (seats billed - users included) x additional-user price add-on plans = shown on the provider's page, never ranked (they are not a phone system on their own) calls not included = shown on the provider's page, never ranked (calls are billed per minute, or sold as separate call packages, on top of the seat price) plan at each size = the cheapest plan that covers that seat count; a plan with a user cap hands over to the next one

Nothing else is added. Taxes, regulatory recovery fees, USF and e911 charges are not added to any figure on this site. On taxes and regulatory fees, 2 of the 37 providers state that the price already carries them on at least one plan, 0 publish what they come to, 14 say they are extra without an amount, and 21 say nothing. Where a provider says the price is all-inclusive or includes them, the page says so beside the figure; everywhere else the invoice will be higher than the figure. Where a plan needs another subscription first (a Google Workspace or Microsoft Teams license), that subscription is not in the figure and the page says so. Handset purchases, number porting, international calling and overage are excluded. Every figure here is a floor. The full method is at Method.

Where the answer changes

What is not confirmed on either side

Figures on this page come from each provider's published pages only. These points were not stated there, so the comparison does not include them:

Microsoft Teams Phone (8 open items)

Free trial: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).

Max seats: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).

Minimum seats: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).

Ownership: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).

Vonage Business Communications (6 open items)

Taxes and regulatory fees: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).

Free trial: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).

Setup fee: not stated in the provider's published documentation (checked 2026-09-05).

Not confirmed: whether the 30% annual-contract discount is still applied at checkout: the annual "Buy now" links carry couponcode=30PERCENTOFF and the plan SKU, and the pricing page still shows the offer on 2026-09-05 despite "valid through January 31, 2026", but the cart (/promo/buy/) is blocked outside the US so the checkout total itself could not be read.

The full list for each provider is on its own page: Microsoft Teams Phone, Vonage Business Communications.

What changed on either side

18 recorded changes across the two providers: 0 on a provider's own page, 18 correcting a figure this site held. The most recent six:

Every entry, by month, with an RSS feed: What changed.

Who this is not for

This compares published prices and nothing else. It is not a judgment about call quality, support or reliability, and neither product has been used by us. If the two prices are close, this page will not decide it for you and should not.

Sources

Related


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.