Which business phone systems have a free trial, and what do you pay once it ends?
Summary
Of the 23 US providers we track, nine print a trial length on their own pages. Seven days: Quo, Grasshopper, Talkroute, Aircall. Ten days: CallHippo. Fourteen days: Dialpad, RingCentral RingEX, JustCall. One month: Microsoft Teams Phone Standard. What you pay afterward is the entry plan each one sells, which on annual billing runs from $10 a user a month (Teams Phone Standard, calling plan not included) to $30 (Aircall Essentials, three seats minimum). Three of the nine say no card is needed to start: Grasshopper, CallHippo and JustCall. Teams Phone takes a card and rolls into a twelve-month paid subscription unless you cancel. Two providers give you thirty days to get your money back instead of a trial (Ooma Office, Phone.com), and five others publish no trial at all.
| Provider | Trial | Card to start | First paid plan | Per user per month after | Min. seats | Checked | Provider |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quo | 7 days | not stated | Starter | $15 annual · $19 monthly | — | checked 2026-09-05 | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Grasshopper | 7 days | no card needed | True Solo | $14 a month, billed annually | — | checked 2026-09-05 | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Talkroute | 7 days | not stated | Basic | $19 a month, month to month | — | checked 2026-09-05 | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Aircall | 7 days | not stated | Essentials | $30 annual · $40 monthly | 3 | checked 2026-09-05 | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| CallHippo | 10 days | no card needed | Starter | $19 annual · $25 monthly | — | checked 2026-09-05 | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Dialpad Connect | 14 days | not stated | Standard | $15 annual · $27 monthly | — | checked 2026-09-05 | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| RingCentral RingEX | 14 days | not stated | Core | $20 annual · $30 monthly | — | checked 2026-09-05 | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| JustCall | 14 days | no card needed | Team | $29 annual · $39 monthly | 2 | checked 2026-09-05 | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Microsoft Teams Phone | 1 month | card required | Teams Phone Standard | $10 a user a month, paid yearly; calling plan extra | — | checked 2026-09-05 | Check current plansUnpaid link |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
What you cannot test during the trial
RingCentral spells out the most. Its trial is for new subscribers only, covers up to 20 phone lines and two devices, and "SMS is not available for trial use." Any trial hardware has to go back within 21 days of cancelling or you are billed for it. A team that texts customers all day cannot rehearse that part before paying.
Teams Phone Standard is the phone system without the phone network. The one-month trial covers the Standard license; calling a regular number needs a Microsoft calling plan, Operator Connect or Direct Routing on top, and the trial does not include one. You can test the dial pad, voicemail and routing between colleagues. You cannot call a customer's cell.
Aircall's paid plans start at three licenses, so a one-person trial is a test of a product you cannot buy at that size.
Quo's page says "Try Quo risk-free for 7 days. Cancel anytime (we'll even remind you)" and nothing about limits. Dialpad's says "14-day free trial with easy self-service setup." Where a page is silent on limits, read that as not stated, not as none.
What happens on the last day
Microsoft is the explicit one: "After your one-month free trial ends, your subscription will automatically convert into a 12-month paid subscription and you'll be charged the applicable subscription fee." A credit card is required to sign up. The trial is a month; the commitment that follows it is a year.
Talkroute: "If you cancel a free trial within 7 days of activating an account you won't be charged a thing (unless you choose to activate paid service before the end of your trial period)." The clock starts when the account is activated, not when you make your first call.
Google Voice has no trial of its own that we could find. It is an add-on to Google Workspace, and the Workspace trial is 14 days for up to 10 users. Google asks you to complete payment setup first and says the payment method will not be charged until the trial ends. Whether Voice can be attached during those 14 days is not something Google's trial pages say.
Grasshopper, CallHippo and JustCall all say no credit card is needed. That also means there is nothing to charge on day eight, eleven or fifteen; the account simply stops.
"Free trial" with no number of days
Three providers advertise a trial without saying how long it lasts. Zoom's trial page lists Zoom Phone "for unlimited domestic calls, SMS messaging, transcription, and more" behind a Start free trial button, with no duration printed. net2phone's plans page has Start Free Trial buttons on each UNITE tier and no length either. 3CX's pricing page has a "Start your free trial" button and, separately, says "Get the 3CX StartUP perpetually FREE for up to 10 users including hosting," which is a free edition rather than a trial; whether that beats paying per seat is its own question. All three may well tell you the trial length at sign-up. We record what is on the public page.
Thirty days to change your mind, instead of a trial
Ooma Office does not run a trial. It has a 30-day money-back guarantee: cancel the account within the window, and hardware bought directly from Ooma is refunded once it is shipped back in its original packaging. Ooma does not refund shipping, and it will not refund hardware bought from a third-party reseller. Ooma says to contact its Customer Care team to cancel, and that charges continue if you do not.
Phone.com prints "30-day money back guarantee" on its pricing page and lists no exclusions there. A guarantee differs from a trial in one way that matters: the money leaves your account first. Budget for the first month and the number, then claim it back.
magicJack for Business is neither. Its $9.99 a line for the first twelve months, renewing at $15.99, is an introductory price, and the page we read lists no trial and no refund window.
The ones that sell by demo or quote
Nextiva's pricing page offers a demo ("No credit card required for demo") and no trial. Vonage Business Communications, Intermedia Unite, 8x8 and GoTo Connect publish no trial either. Intermedia, 8x8 and GoTo Connect route you to sales for a quote, and the last two publish no prices at all, so for them the number comes out of that conversation too.
Testing with your real number
Do not port your business number into a trial. The FCC's guidance on porting is to keep the old service until the new one is working, and a trial that ends on day 14 is not yet a service that works. Test on the temporary number the provider hands you, decide, pay, and port afterward. Can you keep your business phone number when you switch providers? covers the porting rules.
The free plan that is not a trial
CallHippo's Basic plan is $0 for six months and then moves you to Starter. It is the only free-for-a-period plan in this dataset, and the table of what it includes and what Starter costs afterward is in Is there such a thing as a free business phone number?.
Sources
Trial terms checked October 5, 2026. Prices in the table come from the dataset and carry their own check date.
- quo.com/pricing
- grasshopper.com/pricing
- talkroute.com/pricing
- aircall.io/c/free-trial and aircall.io/pricing
- callhippo.com/pricing
- dialpad.com/llm-info
- ringcentral.com/office/plansandpricing.html
- justcall.io/pricing
- microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-teams/microsoft-teams-phone
- knowledge.workspace.google.com — About your Google Workspace free trial
- zoom.com/en/products/free-trial
- net2phone.com/plans-and-pricing
- 3cx.com/ordering/pricing
- ooma.com — 30-day money back guarantee for Ooma Office
- phone.com/pricing
- magicjackforbusiness.com
- nextiva.com/nextiva-pricing
- vonage.com/unified-communications/pricing
- intermedia.com/products/unite/pricing
- 8x8.com/products/plans-and-pricing
- goto.com/pricing/connect
- fcc.gov — Porting: keeping your phone number when you change providers
Related on this site
- Is there such a thing as a free business phone number?
- Why does the cheapest VoIP plan so often cost more than it looks?
- Monthly vs annual billing: 1.28x more on 10 phone plans
- Is the $10 Microsoft Teams Phone license enough to call regular phone numbers?
- Can you keep your business phone number when you switch providers?
- Compare every US plan at your team size
- Seat cost calculator
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.