Which business phone plans include voicemail transcription?

Summary

Most of them, on the cheapest plan. Of 14 providers whose pricing pages we read, eight list voicemail transcription on the entry plan: RingCentral Core, Nextiva Core, Quo Starter, Dialpad Standard, Zoom Phone US & CA Unlimited, Google Voice Starter, Aircall Essentials and CallHippo Starter.

Another three make you move up a tier. Ooma Office adds it on Pro ($5 a user more than Essentials), Phone.com on Plus ($7.50 more than Basic) and Vonage on Advanced ($14 more than Mobile, two tiers up).

The other three don't show it by plan. JustCall ticks "Voicemail" on every plan but has no transcription row, Talkroute's table only counts mailboxes, and Grasshopper mentions it on its features page, not its pricing page.

For five users, an entry plan that already includes transcription costs $75 at Dialpad Connect Standard to $150 at Aircall Essentials a month. Getting it at the three providers that hold it back costs $25 to $70 more a month for five users than their entry plan.

Which plan lists transcription

Whether each provider's cheapest plan turns voicemails into text, read from each pricing page's comparison table on October 5, 2026 (Grasshopper from its features page). “Not listed” means the page does not show transcription by plan. Plan prices come from this site's dataset.
ProviderEntry planTranscription on it?First plan that lists itWhat the page saysProvider
RingCentral RingEXCore: $20 a user (annual)YesAlready on the entry plan“Visual voicemail, voicemail transcriptions, voicemail to email”: included on Core and AdvancedCheck current plansUnpaid link
NextivaCore: $15 a user (annual)YesAlready on the entry plan“Voicemail transcription” checked on Core, Engage and ScaleCheck current plansUnpaid link
QuoStarter: $15 a user (annual)YesAlready on the entry plan“Voicemail transcripts” under “All plans include”Check current plansUnpaid link
Dialpad ConnectStandard: $15 a user (annual)YesAlready on the entry plan“Visual voicemail” and “Voicemail transcription” on Standard, Pro and EnterpriseCheck current plansUnpaid link
Zoom PhoneUS & CA Unlimited: $16 a user (annual)YesAlready on the entry plan“Voicemail with transcription” on every plan in the comparison tableCheck current plansUnpaid link
Google VoiceStarter: $10 a user (monthly)YesAlready on the entry plan“Voicemail transcription” on the Starter card; plans need a Workspace licenseCheck current plansUnpaid link
AircallEssentials: $30 a user (annual)YesAlready on the entry plan“Voicemail transcription” and “Voicemail by email” on every plan; minimum three licensesCheck current plansUnpaid link
CallHippoStarter: $19 a user (annual)YesAlready on the entry plan“AI Voicemail Transcription” from Starter; the free Basic plan has voicemail without itCheck current plansUnpaid link
Ooma OfficeEssentials: $19.95 a user (monthly)NoPro: $24.95 a user (monthly)“Voicemail Transcription” checked on Pro and Pro Plus, not EssentialsCheck current plansUnpaid link
Phone.comBasic: $15 a user (annual)NoPlus: $22.50 a user (annual)“Voicemail-to-text” row: dash on Basic, “Email transcript” on Plus and ProCheck current plansUnpaid link
Vonage Business CommunicationsMobile (1–4 lines): $13.99 a user (annual)NoAdvanced (1–4 lines): $27.99 a user (annual)“Visual Voicemail (with transcription)” is listed under Advanced; Mobile and Premium have voicemail and voicemail to emailCheck current plansUnpaid link
JustCallTeam: $29 a user (annual)Not listedNot stated“Voicemail” checked on every plan; no transcription row (call transcription is unlimited on every plan)Check current plansUnpaid link
TalkrouteBasic: $19 a month for the accountNot listedNot statedThe comparison table counts mailboxes (1 on Basic, 3 on Plus, 10 on Pro); the features menu says “visual voicemail with transcription” without naming a planCheck current plansUnpaid link
GrasshopperTrue Solo: $14 a month for the accountNot listedNot statedThe features page lists voicemail transcription; the pricing page does not show it by planCheck current plansUnpaid link

Scroll sideways on a phone.

Providers do not call it the same thing. RingCentral's row is "Visual voicemail, voicemail transcriptions, voicemail to email"; Phone.com's is "Voicemail-to-text", with the words "Email transcript" in the Plus and Pro columns and a dash under Basic; Quo says "Voicemail transcripts"; Vonage calls it "Visual Voicemail" and adds "(with transcription)" only on the Advanced card. If you search a pricing page for "transcription" and find nothing, try "voicemail-to-text" or "visual voicemail" before concluding the plan lacks it.

Two details are easy to misread. Vonage's Mobile and Premium plans do have voicemail and voicemail to email, so you still get the recording in your inbox; what you don't get is the text. CallHippo's free Basic plan has voicemail but not transcription, and no calling minutes either, so for a working phone line Starter is the real entry plan, and Starter includes it.

What the step up costs at the three that hold it back

For the three providers whose entry plan lacks transcription: what 5 users pay on the entry plan, what they pay on the first plan that lists it, and the difference. Annual-billing prices where published; Vonage uses its 5–19 line price band. Calculated from the dataset, not quoted.
Provider5 users on the entry planFirst plan with transcription5 users on that planDifference a month
Phone.com$75Plus$112.50+$37.50
Ooma Office$99.75Pro$124.75+$25
Vonage Business Communications$62.95Advanced (5–19 lines)$132.95+$70

At Ooma and Phone.com the step is one tier and buys other things as well: Ooma Pro adds call recording and texting (Which Ooma Office plan do you need for call recording and texting? walks through that choice), and Phone.com Plus adds desk-phone support. Vonage is the expensive case, because transcription sits two tiers up on Advanced, which also brings on-demand call recording capped at 15 hours a month. If transcription is the only thing you want from the step, compare the right-hand column against the table below: several providers include it on an entry plan that costs less than the stepped-up plan.

Entry plans that already include it, for five users

The monthly bill for 5 users at the providers whose cheapest plan already includes voicemail transcription. Annual-billing prices where published; Google Voice includes the Workspace license; Aircall's three-license minimum does not bind at five. Calculated from the dataset, not quoted.
Entry plan with transcription5 users a month
Dialpad Connect Standard$75
Nextiva Core$75
Quo Starter$75
Zoom Phone US & CA Unlimited$80
Google Voice Starter$85
CallHippo Starter$95
RingCentral RingEX Core$100
Aircall Essentials$150

The order is by price. Whether a provider pays this site a referral fee does not change it. Google Voice's figure includes the Google Workspace license each user needs, and Aircall's three-license minimum does not matter at five users but would at one or two.

What the pricing pages do not tell you

None of the fourteen pages states how accurate the transcription is, which languages it handles, or how long transcripts are kept. Those are trial questions. The pages also do not always separate transcription from the AI summaries and "voicemail task extraction" that several providers now advertise; a plan can transcribe voicemails without summarizing them. How much do call recording, texting, and AI features add to a business phone plan? covers the AI add-ons and their prices.

Sources

Plan inclusions were read from each provider's pricing page on October 5, 2026; Grasshopper's from its features page because its pricing page does not show the feature by plan. Plan prices are from this site's dataset and carry their own check dates on the provider pages.

Related on this site


Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.