Which business phone plans include call recording, and what does it cost to add?
Summary
7 of 13 providers let you record calls on their cheapest plan: RingCentral, Quo, Dialpad, Zoom, Google Voice, JustCall and Aircall. Nextiva and Phone.com sell it as an add-on on the entry plan, and Ooma, Vonage, Talkroute and CallHippo keep it for a higher tier.
Recording every call automatically usually costs more. RingCentral's Core plan records only when someone presses the button; automatic recording starts on Advanced, $5 a user a month more. Quo makes the same split between Starter and Business ($8 more), and Google Voice keeps automatic recording for Premier, $20 above Starter.
For five users on annual billing, a month on the cheapest plan that records runs from $59 at Talkroute to $166.65 at Phone.com, from the plan prices in this site's dataset.
Only Phone.com prints a price for recording as an add-on: $8 a month on Basic and Plus, included in Pro. Nextiva lists recording as an add-on for Core without a price, and Vonage's Advanced plan caps on-demand recording at 15 hours a month.
Before you switch it on, check the consent rules for the states you call; Do you need the caller's consent to record business calls? covers them.
Which plan records calls
| Provider | Entry plan | Recording on it? | First plan with recording | Automatic recording | Limits and notes | Provider |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RingCentral RingEX | Core: $20 a user (annual) | Yes | Already on the entry plan | From Advanced; Core records on demand only | Storage retention period applies | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Nextiva | Core: $15 a user (annual) | Add-on | Engage: $25 a user (annual) | Not stated by plan | Core lists recording as an add-on with no price | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Quo | Starter: $15 a user (annual) | Yes | Already on the entry plan | From Business; Starter records calls by hand | — | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Dialpad Connect | Standard: $15 a user (annual) | Yes | Already on the entry plan | Not stated by plan | “Unlimited audio recordings” on every plan | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Zoom Phone | US & CA Unlimited: $16 a user (annual) | Yes | Already on the entry plan | Not stated by plan | Listed in the Phone plan highlights | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Google Voice | Starter: $10 a user (monthly) | Yes | Already on the entry plan | Premier only; Standard is on demand | Starter's card says “easy call recording”; plans need a Workspace license | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| JustCall | Team: $29 a user (annual) | Yes | Already on the entry plan | Not stated by plan | “Unlimited call storage”; minimum two licenses | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Aircall | Essentials: $30 a user (annual) | Yes | Already on the entry plan | Not stated by plan | Recordings kept up to 1 year on Essentials, unlimited on Professional (6 months in the dashboard, the rest by request); minimum three licenses | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Phone.com | Basic: $15 a user (annual) | Add-on | Pro: $33.33 a user (annual) | Not stated by plan | $8 a month add-on on Basic and Plus, included in Pro | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Ooma Office | Essentials: $19.95 a user (monthly) | No | Pro: $24.95 a user (monthly) | From Pro (“on demand and always-on”) | — | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Vonage Business Communications | Mobile (1–4 lines): $13.99 a user (annual) | No | Advanced (1–4 lines): $27.99 a user (annual) | Not offered; on demand only | Advanced caps recording at 15 hours a month | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| Talkroute | Basic: $19 a month for the account | No | Pro: $59 a month for the account | Not stated by plan | Not on Basic or Plus | Check current plansUnpaid link |
| CallHippo | Starter: $19 a user (annual) | No | Professional: $30 a user (annual) | Not stated by plan | — | Check current plansUnpaid link |
Scroll sideways on a phone.
"Yes" in the third column means the entry plan can record a call in some form. It does not mean every call is recorded. Most providers that spell out the difference start with on-demand recording, where a user starts and stops it during the call, and save always-on recording for a higher tier. Where the column says "not stated by plan", the pricing page lists call recording without saying which kind.
Google Voice's Starter card now lists "easy call recording" alongside three-way calling and transfers, with "on-demand call recording" on Standard and "automatic call recording" on Premier. Ooma describes its recording, which starts on Pro, as "on demand and always-on". Aircall is the one provider that prints a retention limit by plan: recordings are kept up to a year on Essentials and without limit on Professional, with six months visible in the dashboard either way and the rest available by request.
What five users pay for a plan that records
| Cheapest plan with call recording | 5 users a month | More than the entry plan |
|---|---|---|
| Talkroute Pro | $59 | +$20 |
| Dialpad Connect Standard | $75 | Included |
| Quo Starter | $75 | Included |
| Zoom Phone US & CA Unlimited | $80 | Included |
| Google Voice Starter | $85 | Included |
| RingCentral RingEX Core | $100 | Included |
| Ooma Office Pro | $124.75 | +$25 |
| Nextiva Engage | $125 | +$50 |
| Vonage Business Communications Advanced (5–19 lines) | $132.95 | +$70 |
| JustCall Team | $145 | Included |
| Aircall Essentials | $150 | Included |
| CallHippo Professional | $150 | +$55 |
| Phone.com Pro | $166.65 | +$91.65 |
Phone.com is shown on Pro, which includes recording and costs $18.33 a user more than Basic. The add-on route is cheaper on paper: if the $8 add-on is charged per user, Basic with recording comes to $23 a user, but the pricing page does not say whether the $8 is per user or per account, so ask before you count on it. At Ooma the step from Essentials to Pro is $5 a user and also adds the desktop app and 250 texts a month; Which Ooma Office plan do you need for call recording and texting? has the rest of that comparison.
The order is by the five-user bill. Whether a provider pays this site a referral fee does not affect it.
On demand or every call
On-demand recording suits a team that wants to keep the occasional important call, such as a quote agreed over the phone. If the point is training, quality review or protecting yourself in a dispute, you need every call, and that is where the tier matters: at RingCentral, Quo and Google Voice it means paying for the next plan up for every user who should be recorded. Where a pricing page does not say which kind its plans offer, ask before you buy. How much do call recording, texting, and AI features add to a business phone plan? covers the other features that usually move with the same tier change.
Sources
Plan inclusions were read from each provider's pricing page on October 5, 2026. Plan prices are from this site's dataset and carry their own check dates on the provider pages.
- ringcentral.com/office/plansandpricing.html
- nextiva.com/nextiva-pricing
- quo.com/pricing
- dialpad.com/pricing
- zoom.us/pricing/zoom-phone
- workspace.google.com/products/voice
- justcall.io/pricing
- aircall.io/pricing
- phone.com/pricing
- ooma.com — Ooma Office plans
- vonage.com/unified-communications/pricing
- talkroute.com/pricing
- callhippo.com/pricing
Related on this site
- Do you need the caller's consent to record business calls?
- Voicemail transcription by plan, and what the step up costs
- How much do call recording, texting, and AI features add to a business phone plan?
- Which Ooma Office plan do you need for call recording and texting?
- Which RingEX plan fits a small team now that RingCentral posts prices for only two?
- What does Quo (formerly OpenPhone) cost beyond the per-user price?
- Which business phone plans include an auto attendant, and what does the cheapest one cost?
- Compare every US plan at your team size
- Seat cost calculator
Written by Kaz (pen name). Figures are copied from providers' published pricing pages on the dates shown. We have not used these products. Corrections: contact form.